Wow

It’s been a crazy few days. I legitimately have an excuse for my little hiatus in blogging as the last week or so has been an insane blur. I am currently exhausted emotionally and physically – but for good things, and for that, I am so thankful.

The last few weeks have been filled with rehearsals. I was enlisted to arrange and coordinate the choir for this year’s OHEL concert. One of the downsides to being an “alternative” Jewish music act is that I rarely get to be on the big Jewish music concerts. 8th Day has broken the mold through their smash “Yalili,” so it’s nice to see the potential possibility for acts like myself to be on shows such as OHEL. Anyways, I jumped at the opportunity to be part of the show, as it really is a huge opportunity for me. My choir consisted of some of the most incredible and cooperative guys I have ever worked with. Every rehearsal was better than the last and I am really proud at all the effort that went in from my team. And of course, the concert which took place this past Monday was amazing.

Aside from the impending concert, I also had a slew of weddings and bar mitzvahs that I was playing within the week. It was hectic and exciting, but nothing matches up to the fact that my wife was due to have a baby right in this time period. On every gig, when my phone would vibrate, I would literally jump to see if she would need me to run off the bandstand to her aid. Well this past Sunday came along and I went trough with my usual Sunday deal of going to a wedding. First off – thank G-d that this was an afternoon wedding and secondly, the hall was literally 20 minutes away from the hospital my wife was eventually going to deliver in. Well sure enough, as we were starting the last dance set, with about a half an hour left to the gig, I got the call. I ran off stage with my guitar and bolted to the hospital. It actually worked out well being that this was a 2-guitar gig and no one really noticed that I had gone.

A few hours later I became a father to an adorable and healthy little boy, who is my little rockstar. Wow.

 

8 thoughts on “Wow

  1. Shimmy Atlas says:

    Mazel Tov! My son was born the night after my brother’s sheva brachos ended and after a wedding I sang at so I know the “waiting for the phone call” feeling! You should have much nachas from your song!

  2. bobby says:

    you forgot to add that you almost bolted without your cellphone –or was it your car keys?

  3. hillelKAPS says:

    So awesome! Mazel Tov!

  4. Ari Yablok says:

    Mazel Tov Aryeh – Much Much Nachas! May he be brought up L’torah chuppah ul’maysim tovim, and may he brought up to keep on rockin in the free world! Best, – Ari Yablok

  5. Mazal tov! I’m glad to hear that things are going so well. Keep up the blogging, but definitely take a break as needed for your family.

  6. Ken says:

    Awesome news Aryeh! Congrats Pop!!

Leave a Reply

